10 Songs To Put You In A Lovely Mood

Whenever I’m feeling overwhelmed, angry, or just plain unlovely, I turn to music to get me through it.  I decided to make a list of a few songs that have literally helped me back down from the edge of a cliff.

Sometimes, all it takes is a song to cheer you up when you lost your sense loveliness.

1. Colbie Caillat “Brighter than the Sun” – I don’t know why she’s number 1. Normally I find her quite annoying, but this song makes me want to skip and put my hair in pigtails, so I give her props for it.

 

2. Foster the People  “Don’t Stop (Color on the Wall)” – I wonder if this song has been used in commercials because it’s perfect for sneakers or tampons ads.  I can just imagine a girl in a yellow dress jumping around, running up and down the stairs, water rafting, climbing a mountain in heels, winking at a handsome stranger, all the while this song is playing in the background. Then the words “Does your Tampon allow you to feel like this?” come up. If it hasn’t been made yet, I’ll be the one to make this commercial.

 

3. Foster the People “Waste” – This song is a little slower then some of the other ones on the playlist but I think its message is absolutely lovely. Sometimes you need someone to hold you tight and tell you:

“every day that you want to waste, that you want to waste, you can                                      And every day that you want to wake up, that you want to wake, you can                            And every day that you want to change, that you want to change, yeah                                   I’ll help you see it through ’cause I just really want to be with you”

How sweet is this?! So sweet.

 

4. Jack Johnson “Bubble Toes” –  You could be sitting in your car obliterated with anger after spending the last two hours on the phone being passive aggressively screwed by an airline costumer service representative saying “no refund,” and now you are contemplating running over that dog crossing the street because his owner reminds you of that mean guy who stole your dumbbells at the gym – couldn’t he see you were using them? But once “Bubble Toes” comes on, all of that doesn’t matter. You regain your sanity and find yourself in audible paradise. All is well. (P.S. I would never run over a dog, only Lufthansa airline officials)

 

5. MIKA “Elle me dit” – parce que MIKA est un musicien magnifique. Who could beat MIKA’s upbeat tempo and positivity? Try running to this on the treadmill and watch your finger push the ^ button on the speed meter. For the full effect, watch this music video – it’s so lovely.

 

6. Beyonce “Countdown” – fierce and feisty ladies love Beyonce, and so does everybody else. This song will not only make you feel lovely but make you want to dance and ‘sho yo man you da finest.”

 

7. Cee Lo Green “Open Happiness” – If happiness came in a bottle that you can snap open like a can of tennis balls, it would have this song playing when the can is opened.

 

8. Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zero “Home” – I believe there is a banjo featured somewhere in this song, but it is not a country song.

 

9. The 1990’s “Balthazar” –  Bounce around your room in your underwear singing into a spoon: “Oh! But I just can’t seem to get in touch with you! Oh! But I just can’t seem to get in touch with you!” And think of all the people that are singing this in their minds about you.

 

10. Desmond and the Tutus “Kiss you on the cheek (King of town remix)” – As my friend Arielle put it, “I want to fall in love to this song.” The light harmonica and the fun beat, along with the few precious lyrics, makes this a truly lovely listen.

Gallery | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

